Meditation - Ascension - Channelling - Soul Mates

TJ Higgs - Psychic Medium Healing Singing Bowls Courses on the go. Holistic and Spiritual Courses Psychic Workshops Alex Lovelock Medium Elizabeth Francis - Psychic Medium Kim Barden Hypnotherapy BWRT Spiritual Energetics
Blackpool Psychic Switch
Date: 19-Aug-2019 7:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Village Hotel, Blackpool, FY3 8LL, United Kingdom
Halifax Psychic switch
Date: 25-Jul-2019 7:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Tower House Hotel, Halifax, HX2 7EW, United Kingdom
Hyde Psychic Switch
Date: 30-Jul-2019 7:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Village Hotel, Hyde, SK14 4QG, United Kingdom
Wakefield Psychic switch
Date: 08-Aug-2019 7:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Cedar Court Hotel, Wakefield, WF4 3QZ, United Kingdom
Doncaster Psychic Switch
Date: 11-Aug-2019 7:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Regent Hotel, Doncaster, DN1 2DS, United Kingdom
Northallerton Psychic Switch
Date: 21-Aug-2019 7:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Allerton court Hotel, Northallerton, DL6 2XF, United Kingdom
Pontefract Psychic Switch
Date: 03-Sep-2019 7:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel, Badsworth, WF9 1AB, United Kingdom
Bradford Psychic Switch
Date: 04-Sep-2019 7:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Bradford Guide Post Hotel, BD12 0ST, United Kingdom
Driffield Psychic Switch
Date: 05-Sep-2019 7:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: The Bell Inn, Driffield, YO25 6AN, United Kingdom
Stockport Mind Body Spirit Event – 7th & 8th September 2019
Date: 07-Sep-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Stockport Masonic Guildhall, Wellington Road South, Stockport, UK FREE PARKING , SK1 3UA, United Kingdom
Hull Psychic Switch
Date: 08-Sep-2019 7:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Village Hotel, Hull, HU4 7DY, United Kingdom
Huddersfield Psychic Switch
Date: 09-Sep-2019 7:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Pennine Manor Hotel, huddersfield, HD7 4NH, United Kingdom
Wirral Psychic Switch
Date: 16-Sep-2019 7:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Village Hotel, Wirral, CH62 4UE, United Kingdom
HARROGATE HEALTH HEALING & WELLBEING FESTIVAL 12 & 13 October 2019
Date: 12-Oct-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Harrogate Convention Centre, Kings Site, Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5LA, HG1 5JR, United Kingdom
CHESTER HEALTHHEALING&WELLBEING FESTIVAL 19 & 20 October 2019
Date: 19-Oct-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Chester Racecourse, The Pavilion, Watergate Street, Chester CH1 2LY, CH1 2LY, United Kingdom
Lighting up the Earths Crystals with Tim Whild & Rosemary Stephenson
Date: 17-Nov-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, Park Parade, Harrogate, UK, HG1 5RQ, United Kingdom
MIND BODY SPIRIT Event Hinchingbrooke House, Huntingdon. Sunday 21st July 2019
Date: 21-Jul-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Hinchingbrooke HouseBrampton RoadHuntingdonCambridgeshirePE29 3BN, PE29 6NB, United Kingdom
Are you a Starseed? It's time to step forward
Date: 25-Jul-2019 7:30 PM

Visit Site
Address: Balmoral Community Centre, Salisbury Avenue, Southend-on-Sea, Westcliff-on-Sea, UK, SS9 1HT, United Kingdom
EVENING OF MEDIUMSHIP with the Well-Renowned & Gifted Medium GORDON SMITH
Date: 26-Jul-2019 7:30 PM

Visit Site
Address: Ditton Community Centre, Kiln Barn Road, Ditton, Aylesford ME20 6AH, UK, ME20 6QR, United Kingdom
Feng Shui Approved Foundation Course
Date: 27-Jul-2019 10:30 AM

Visit Site
Address: 89 Worship StreetCity ArcLondon, EC1A 7EB, United Kingdom
Mind Body Spirit Fair 28th July 2019 £2.50 Entrance pay on door
Date: 28-Jul-2019 12:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Loughton Club Station Road, Loughton, Station Road, Loughton, UK, IG10 4NX, United Kingdom
Angelic Reiki 3&4 Masters Course
Date: 02-Aug-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Address on booking form, IP24 3AU, United Kingdom
Mind Body Spirit Fair 4th August 2019 £2.50 entrance for charity to pay on...
Date: 04-Aug-2019 12:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Hamptons Sports and Leisure, Tydemans, Great Baddow, Chelmsford, UK, CM2 9RR, United Kingdom
Remote Spirit Release - August Workshop
Date: 17-Aug-2019 9:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Equilibrium Natural Health Centre, Leafield Way, Neston, Corsham, UK, SN13 9SW, United Kingdom
What’s Up with Your DNA?! Workshop
Date: 17-Aug-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Violet Hill Studios6 Violet Hill, NW8 9EB, United Kingdom
2 DAY PAST LIFE REGRESSION PRACTITIONER DIPLOMA COURSE + MUCH MORE
Date: 18-Aug-2019 9:30 AM

Visit Site
Address: Campanile HotelDartford, DA2 6QN, United Kingdom
Angel healing practitioner course level 1
Date: 22-Aug-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: 11 Harefields, Long Melford, Suffolk co10 9de, CO10 9DE, United Kingdom
MSDC'S BIG PSYCHIC FAIR
Date: 25-Aug-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: DITTON COMMUNITY CENTRE,KILBARN ROAD, DITTON,AYLESFORD, KENT ME20 6AH, ME20 6AH, United Kingdom
Kallima Crystal Sale - ENTIRE MONTH OF AUGUST - Basildon, Essex
Date: 31-Aug-2019 9:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: 8a Adams Business Centre, Cranes Farm Road, Basildon, SS14 3JF, United Kingdom
Crystal Therapy Diploma Workshops
Date: 08-Sep-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel, Castlefields Way, Madeley, Telford, UK, TF7 5DW, United Kingdom
Hypnosis Training Course
Date: 11-Sep-2019 9:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: The Lee, Great Missenden HP16 9LZ, United Kingdom, HP16 9LZ, United Kingdom
EFT Levels Combined 1&2 Practitioner Course
Date: 13-Sep-2019 9:45 AM

Visit Site
Address: venue details on booking form, IP24 3AU, United Kingdom
The Transformational Truth of Tarot Retreat Canada
Date: 27-Sep-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Saint - Adolphe -d'Howard, Quebec, Canada., 93657, United States
Finding the connection between body mind and soul
Date: 28-Sep-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: KENSINGTON TOWN HALL, HORNTON STREET LONDON, W8 7NXHiGH STREET KENSINGTON, W8 7JB, United Kingdom
VIBRANTLY AFRICAN AND LIFESTYLE AND WELLNESS EVENT
Date: 28-Sep-2019 11:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Kensington Town Hall Toilets, Town Hall, Hornton Street, London W8 7NX, UK, W8 7JB, United Kingdom
Mind Body Spirit & Craft Weekend Fair 28th/29th September 2019
Date: 28-Sep-2019 11:00 AM

Address: The Woolwell Centre Darklake Lane Plymouth Devon, PL6 7RB, United Kingdom
Psychic Medium - Live Phone Readings
Date: 05-Oct-2019 9:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: London, UK, WC2N 5DU, United Kingdom
A Demonstration of Mediumship with TJ Higgs.
Date: 11-Oct-2019 7:30 PM

Visit Site
Address: The Staddy, Staddiscombe Road, Plymouth, UK, PL9 9LT, United Kingdom
Remote Spirit Release - October Workshop
Date: 12-Oct-2019 9:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: De Vere Horsley Estate, Ockham Road South, East Horsley, Leatherhead, UK, KT24 6RS, United Kingdom
Mansfield MBS Show
Date: 12-Oct-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: John Fretwell CentreSookholme rdMansfieldNotts, NG19, United Kingdom
A Demonstration of Ascension Mediumship
Date: 12-Oct-2019 3:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: John Fretwell Centre, Sookholme rd, Mansfield, Notts, NG19, United Kingdom
Mansfield MBS Show
Date: 13-Oct-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: John Fretwell Centre Sookholme rd Mansfield Notts, NG19 8LL, United Kingdom
The 7 Secrets of The Beehive
Date: 13-Oct-2019 3:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: John Fretwell Centre,Sookholme Road, Mansfield, NG19 8LL, United Kingdom
LIVING THE LAW OF ATTRACTION RETREAT BALI
Date: 18-Oct-2019 2:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Narasoma Retreat Centre,Jalan Monkey Forest,Gang Beji No 35,Ubud 80571,Bali, Indonesia, 80571, Indonesia
The Inner Vision: Self Development Retreat 2019
Date: 19-Oct-2019 9:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: The Grand, The Leas, Folkestone, UK, CT20 2LR, United Kingdom
Colchester Mind Body Spirit Festival
Date: 19-Oct-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Marks Tey Parish HallOld London RoadMarks TeyColchesterEssex, CO6 1EJ, United Kingdom
Autumn Gentle Yoga & Wellness Retreat
Date: 25-Oct-2019 3:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: EX37 9BJ, EX37 9BJ, United Kingdom
Energy Trinity Weekend
Date: 25-Oct-2019 4:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Royal Norfolk Hotel, The Esplanade, Bognor Regis, West Sussex,, PO21 2AQ, United Kingdom
Nantwich Civic Hall Mind Body Spirit Event 26th October 2019
Date: 26-Oct-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Beam Street Nantwich Cheshire, CW5 5DG, United Kingdom
Nantwich Mind Body Spirit Event – 26th & 27th October 2019
Date: 26-Oct-2019 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Nantwich Civic Hall, Market Street, Nantwich CW5 5NH, UK, CW5 5DG, United Kingdom
Divine Feminine in Egypt November 2019
Date: 06-Nov-2019 2:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: Achti ResortAl Awameya, P.O. Box 43, Luxor, 83951, Egypt, 83951, Egypt
Retreat to Holy Land and Petra, Jordan
Date: 11-Dec-2019 8:00 PM

Visit Site
Address: London, UK, WC2N 5DU, United Kingdom
Free ONLINE Angel Healing Course (includes recognized accredited certificate)
Date: 31-Jul-2020 10:00 AM

Visit Site
Address: Global Online, M2, United Kingdom

International Version
Select County

Ann Sinclair - Psychic Reading Tarot by Patti The Big Purple Psychic & Holistic Fair IPHM Side - Therapists Accrediation Spiritual Events UK - Psychics For Hire Theta Healing Academy Psychic Paula VgoriPsychic Paula Vgori Spirit Guide Services SMALL 12 I Speak with Animals MBS Web Design - Mind Body Soul Gathering of Minds Peaceful LivingLuna Chakra and Aura Certified Course Pauline Clairvoyant Medium






[ View My Events ]
  +Add Event +Add Article +Add Classified +Add To Directory
Search
Singing Bowls and Gong Products

A Review of Psychical Research - Part Eight. Spiriit Release, and How Long have we been here ? Al

By:Richard Rowley
Date: Mon,20 Aug 2012
Submitter:Richard Rowley
Views:23153

View Related

I feel we will cast no shadows, nor have any clouds hanging over us if we are lit not by the sun of the material universe, but by the inner spiritual light. I think that the increasing amount of spirit rescue and release work done by mediums, home circles and now by a growing number of psychiatrists and therapists, has to be based on spiritual knowledge as well as medical and psychological expertise. For this reason, I would offer a few more articles concerning the work of researchers and mediums from various backgrounds and disciplines, including Sir Alister Hardy, William James and Alfred Wallace. They have all made the connection between spirituality and evolution, uniting science with religion in their thought and practice. I offer this to dispel a few fears and shadows!

How long have we been here? Answers from William James, Alfred Wallace, William James, Frances Banks and Michael Cremo.

Here we have the names of five researchers from different disciplines who at different times over the past 160 years have contributed to our knowledge of the spirit world. Two of them are Darwinian scientists, one was a psychologist, one an Anglican nun, and the last a researcher who found an alternative to Darwin’s theory of evolution in the ancient Vedas of India and in modern archeology. Two of them gave the Gifford Lectures at Aberdeen University, afterwards publishing their discussion there as “The Varieties of Religious Experience” [James, 1902) and Hardy: “The Living Stream,” (1965) and The Divine Flame: Natural History and Religion” (1966) followed by “The Spiritual Nature of Man” (1979) – a summary of the first ten years’ research of the RERU at Manchester College, Oxford. [It is interesting to note that at Lampeter College in Wales, where the RERU research is now housed, an MA course in 'Death and Immortality in Western Thought' has been offered since October, 1983. Richard R.]

The questionnaire which Hardy sent out was almost identical to that devised by Frances Banks in her research into religious experiences twenty years earlier, which she published in her “Frontiers of Revelation” in 1962. Now, before that, back in 1953, both Frances Banks and Helen Greaves joined the Churches’ Fellowship for Psychical and Spiritual Studies, founded that year by another researcher, Colonel Reginald Lester, a colleague of Lord Dowding, of the Battle of Britain fame, who researched Spiritualism in the 1940s. We have reviewed their work earlier in two of these series, but the interesting thing is that the Darwinian Zoologist, Sir Alister Hardy, who had started collecting accounts of religious experiences back in the 1920s, had shown an interest in Spiritualism as far back as 1916, when he had read the first edition of Sir Oliver Lodge’s “Raymond.” Before that, Alfred Wallace, who had worked closely with Darwin from 1854 to form the theory of Evolution, later joined with William James to investigate mediums such as Kate Fox, Florence Cook and William Eglinton, and found their phenomena to be genuine. Michael Cremo more recently has provided us with an excellent account of the collaboration between these early researchers in chapter 5 of “Human Devolution,” [Torchlight Publishing, 2003].

Since we are in the middle of discussing Sir Alister Hardy’s work, let us review his account of his early interest in psychical research, in this case concerning telepathy, presented in the Proceedings of the Society for Psychical Research (vol. 50, pp.105-7, 1953) and reprinted in “The Challenge of Chance” - Hardy, Harvie and Koestler, Random House, New York, 1974.

My experience took place during the First World War. For a time I was in a Cyclist Battalion stationed on the Lincolnshire coast where there lived a Mrs. Wedgwood who was very kind in entertaining some of the officers of the regiment. Sir Oliver Lodge’s book “Raymond” had just been published [November, 1916] and after we had been discussing it she confessed that she herself had been an amateur medium. She was, I understood, the widow of a Mr. Arthur Wedgwood who, with his brother Hensleigh Wedgwood, was much interested in Spiritualism towards the end of the last century. She then very occasionally, by holding objects, claimed to be able to “see” and describe people she had never seen before [through psychometry]. Once, by holding a letter she gave a reasonable but not very exact description of my mother who was then alive. I mention this without attaching much value to it only as an introduction to the two cases I consider so important, but in passing I may just say that her description of the path along which my mother and I had so often walked together was much more striking than that of my mother herself.

Mrs. Wedgwood from earlier talks knew that my brother was an engineering student and that he was a prisoner-of-war in Germany. One Sunday afternoon I went up to her house, to tea. With one or two others I had been trying some table-tilting séances with her – without getting anything but quite meaningless messages spelt out – and that afternoon after tea we sat down at the table. A moment or two after I had put my hands on the table next to hers – I cannot remember now whether they touched hers or not – she suddenly said, “Oh, I can see your brother in Germany quite clearly. I can see him in a little room in his prison camp with a camp bed, he is sitting at a table drawing what I think must be some engineering plan; on a large sheet of white paper I see him painting what seem to be squares and oblongs of red and blue.”

Actually she had described exactly what I had been doing myself all that afternoon and no one knew I had been doing it. Our colonel had a great interest in military history and was giving the officers a series of lectures on Monday evenings on various campaigns. He knew I was quick at drawing and he had asked me to make a map for him to illustrate his next talk on the Franco-Prussian War. He didn’t know how I was going to do it; it was only that afternoon that I had the idea of cutting out squares and oblongs of card painted read and blue to represent the various units of infantry, cavalry and artillery of the two sides so that he could move them about on pins to their different positions as the lecture proceeded. It was an obvious thing to do, but he had only asked me to prepare a large map of the area. I spent the greater part of the afternoon – in my rather bare room in my billet with a camp-bed in it – looking at the large white map
and moving the read and blue cards about following a description of the campaign and making pencil marks where they should be at different stages. After I had finished I put the cards away, rolled up the map, and went straight off on my bicycle to tea with Mrs. Wedgwood. I am absolutely certain that no one could have told her before I went what I had been doing. I would find it difficult to that the correspondence of her description of what she thought my brother was doing and what I myself had actually been doing all afternoon was mere coincidence; with another case of almost the same kind I am convinced that coincidence cannot explain it.

The second case was a year later. I was now attached to the Royal Engineers as a camouflage officer and was attending a special course at the school set up in Kensington Gardens under Solomon J. Solomon, B.A. Mrs. Wedgwood came to stay in London whilst I was there and I went out to dinner with her. The case is remarkably like the other one. That afternoon at the school we were doing experiments in dazzle effects. I had taken a large sheet of white cardboard and then painted it all over with a most vivid pink distemper. I was then going to cut it up into all sorts of shapes to use in our experiments, but I found it took much longer to dry than I had expected so that I had it in front of me and kept looking at it to see if it was ready for some considerable time before I actually cut it up. Again I am quite certain that no one could have told Mrs. Wedgwood what I had been doing, for no one at the camouflage school knew her or knew that I was going
out to dinner with her. I had not sat down at the dinner table with her for more than a moment or two when she suddenly said, “Oh, what have you been doing? I see a large pink square on the table in front of you.”

There is no need to emphasize how alike the two cases are. I will only add that I know I have a good visual memory and that colour and shape make a strong impression on me. It was not as if Mrs. Wedgwood frequently made statements as to what she thought I, or people connected with me, had been doing and that these particular cases just described were the only two correct ones. The only other occasion I believe when she made such a statement to me was the one concerning my mother that I have already referred to.

There can be no doubt that this made a tremendous impression on me. From that time on I must admit that I was myself, in my heart of heart, convinced that telepathy was real; at the same time I knew that my account was not scientifically good evidence and could not convince others. It was one more example of the vast number of such cases of spontaneous telepathy reported in the files of the Society for Psychical Research.”

So while Sir Alister continued throughout his academic career to investigate and lecture in Zoology and Biology from a Darwinian perspective, he was aware of the spiritual side of life, and continued his research into it. He eventually created in 1969 the Religious Experience Research Unit at Oxford, which is now housed in Lampeter College, University of Wales.

Both he, Frances Banks and Michael Cremo have concluded that Darwinian theory alone cannot account for life on this planet. Life did not occur just by chance or develop by the natural selection of evolution. As we can see from the gardens of Theosophist Catherine Tingley in California 90 years ago, or the Findhorn garden in Northern Scotland in the 1960s, there are nature spirits or devas and other entities at work behind the creation and growth of all forms of life. They can be seen at work by clairvoyants. Vera Stanley Alder gives her account of them as she saw them in the 1940s [“From the Mundane to the Magnificent.” Samuel Weiser. New York 1979.]

Michael Cremo, co-author with Richard Thompson of “Forbidden Archeology: the Hidden History of the Human Race.” Bhaktivedanta Institute, 1993] suggests that humans have been on earth longer than Darwin speculated, perhaps over 600 millions years or more, rather than a mere 30 thousand years at the end of evolution and the Origin of Species. Darwinian palaeontologists (examining fossils), geologists, biologists, zoologists and archeologists have concluded that present life forms have evolved over half a billion (500 million) years ago. Over this time period, humans arrived only around 30 thousand years ago, while life first started in simple form some 2 billion years before that, with the formation of the planet taking place 2 or 3 billion years earlier still. Take this time line of evolution – the last half billion years, and compare it with the Biblical story that God created the world in 6 days, and rested on the 7th, then if Creation started at 12 a.m. midnight, Monday morning, humans arrived only in the last three minutes, Saturday night at 11.57 p.m.

Whether we have been here only since Saturday night, or earlier in the week, or perhaps even at the start on Monday, is not important, from a spiritual perspective. What is important is that some Darwinians, like Alfred Wallace and Alister Hardy, as well as Spiritualists and Vedic philosophers, understand that the world of spirit exists, was “there” prior to the material, phenomenal world and has an essential part in the creation and evolution of all life on earth, and elsewhere. Consciousness has not just evolved on its own, out of matter, which is secondary to spirit. Now this is contrary to the modern scientific world-view, but this is beginning to show cracks. Psychic research has provided enough data now to indicate that material science is incomplete, and needs to open its mind to further dimensions before it will be able to explain, if ever, the whole truth of life. We may have to wait for final answers until we have evolved further on the higher spiritual planes. Frances Banks has more to say from place over there now, which I will continue with in episode 140 of the “Rescue” series. Meantime, I would stress the importance for us here on earth of future psychic research. Several scientists and clerics have emphasised that psychical research is the most significant branch of modern science needed for us in order to properly address all the problems we have on this planet.

[to be continued] Richard R.

Like This? (Click Me)
 Be the first person to like this
 Known Humans have read this.
Post a Comment   View Comments(0)
Did you enjoy this article? why not let us know.








Share Page with Friends EmailBookmark and Share
Contact Me Contact Me
Request Delete/Amendment Request Amendment
Digg this article!
Delicious! Add this article to Del.icio.us!
Discuss Article on TheSpiritGuidesNetwork.co.uk Discuss Article on TheSpiritGuidesNetwork.co.uk

Post Article:
Submit Your Own Article

Leave a Comment

 

  
   
 


  


Enter the numbers shown above:

Comments

Copyright 2006-2013 TheSpiritGuides.co.uk
Tel: 07967 595893
A Mind Body Soul Directory and Spiritual Knowledge Site. Dedicated to Brenda Smith and all spiritual seekers out there.
0